Assert Yourself

Have you ever been offended by another person? Most of us have at some point or another in our lives . Before you reacted to the offense did you truly think the other person’s actions through thoroughly? Most of us don’t we immediately respond in order to make ourselves feel justified. Our response can be directed towards the person who has knowingly or unknowingly made the offense. Or some may choose to respond by letting others in on the offense so that judgment can be placed on the other person by a group of our peers.

I myself usually take the approach of silence, which also doesn’t necessarily do the trick. So I decided to consult the Bible. And I was surprised at what it says. It tells us to confront those who sin against us. Hmmm…. I guess not addressing the person isn’t the best course of action. I stand corrected. However, it also states that if the person repents, then forgive them. I can live with that.

It’s important to realize that you are just as important as anyone else. Your feelings and talents are God-given just like everyone else. So be thankful for them and do not allow anyone to walk over you or rain on your parade. For those of us who like to live life by letting situations pass for us it may seem easy, but in reality you are allowing another to criticize not just you but your creator and no one has the right to do that. Stand up for yourself and the creation that God has made in you.

I make a new pledge to myself today. From now on I will assert myself in situations where I have been wronged but not hold a grudge when an apology is presented.

Bible verse – Matt: 18:15

Leave a Reply

